Employment Opportunity for Program Officer

The Northern Marianas Humanities Council (Council) is inviting dynamic, motivated, and self-driven individuals with strong interest in the humanities to submit an employment application for the position of Program Officer.

The Program Officer is responsible for developing and implementing a variety of humanities programs and events and coordinating the Council's Community Grants program under the supervision of the Council's executive director.  A detailed description of the Program Officer's duties may be downloaded here.

Applicants for this position must possess (1). strong analytic, writing, and communication skills; (2). knowledge of grants writing and grants administration; (3). the ability to work effectively with people from diverse backgrounds; (4). a working knowledge of NMI history and of current political, social and economic issues confronting the local community; (5). basic computer skills including knowledge of MS Excel, Word and PowerPoint; and (6). the ability to articulate the Council's mission to a wide range of audiences.

Applicants must have a bachelor's degree (B.A. or B.S.) in a humanities discipline from an accredited post-secondary institution.  The salary range is from $35,000 to $40,000 depending on qualifications and experience.  Benefits are set forth in the Council's Personnel Policy Manual.

Interested individuals are invited to send an application package including: (1). letter of interest; (2). detailed resume; (3). a writing sample (500--800 words on a humanities topic of your choice); and (4). the names and addresses of three references to Scott Russell, Executive Director, Northern Marianas Humanities Council, P.O. Box 506437, Saipan, MP 96950.  Application packages may also be dropped at the Council's office in Springs Plaza, Gualo Rai, during regular working hours.  Complete application packages must be received by Council staff on or before 4:00 p.m. on Friday, 6 October 2017.  For more information about this employment opportunity, please contact Council staff at 235-4785.

The Northern Marianas Humanities Council is an equal opportunity employer.